@ ATCM Inc. 2002

Contributed Papers

 

Graphics Calculators, CAS, and Mathematics
Mathematical Research & Technology
Internet Technology in Mathematics Education
Mathematics Software in Teaching and Research

Mathematics and Technology

An Attempt to Correlate Poor Performance in Engineering Mathematics During the First Year of Polytechnic Education with the Grounding Provided in the Student's Secondary Education 

Kah-Yee Ng (nky2@np.edu.sg)
Ngee Ann Polytechnic
Singapore

Aspects of the Influence of Technology on Teaching Mathematics in the Last Decades

H. Zand and W.D. Crowe
The Open University
U.K.

Graphs Before Algebra: An Exercise in Imaginary Curriculum
Chris Barling (cbarling@swin.edu.au)
Swinburne University of Technology
Australia

Implementing Reform Methods of Teaching Mathematics in a Traditional and Conservative Department

Sinforosa "Rose" Tan (rose.tan@sunywcc.edu)
Westchester Community College
U.S.A.

Quality Assurance by Question Design in Online Teaching

Yousong Luo ( yluo@rmit.edu.au)
RMIT Unversity
Australia

Representation of Knowledge of Fraction in a Computer Environment by Young Children

Mohan Chinnappan ( mohan_chinnappan@uow.edu.au)
University of Wollongong
Australia

Teaching Linear Algebra with and to Computers

D.J. Jeffrey and Robert M. Corless
University of Western Ontario
Canada

The Effect of the Use of Technology to Explore Functions (3): The Development of Function Sense Using Technology

Chieko Fukuda
Hakuoh University
Kyoko Kakihana
Tokyo Kasei Gakuin Tsukuba Junior College
Katsuhiko Shimizu
National Institute for Educational Research
Japan

Using Grobner Basis Computations to Teach Algebra

Michael Bulmer (mrb@maths.uq.edu.au)
The University of Queensland
Australia

Mathematics and Technology
Graphics Calculators, CAS, and Mathematics
Mathematical Research & Technology
Mathematics Software in Teaching and Research

 

Internet Technology in Mathematics Education

Building Homepage for a Course

Jinhao Zhang (zhangjhk@online.sh.cn)
Fudan University
China

Distance Learners and a CAS-based Mathematics Course: Evaluation and its Problems

H. Zand and W. D. Crowe
The Open University
U.K

EDUX: EDucation with an aUthoring tool using XML

Helmi Mohamed Hussain (helmi@uum.edu.my), Aida Liza Hussin (edaleeja@yahoo.com), Khairul Adilah Ahmad (adilah72@hotmail.com), Mazlyda Abdul Rahman (sunflower78@visto.com), Rohaya Yahaya (rby78@hotmail.com) and SitiSalmah Md. Kassim (sitibuha@hotmail.com)
Universiti Utara Malaysia
Malaysia

Effective Mathematics Education Software in the Primary School: A Teachers' Perspective

Janelle Pollard (janellep@csee.uq.edu.au) and Roger Duke (rduke@csee.uq.edu.au)
University of Queensland
Australia

Geometric Construction and Elementary Analysis

Andrew Toon ( andrewtoon@sim.edu.sg)
Open University
Singapore

Integrated Statistical Education System with Interactive Components on the Internet

Naoko Sakurai
Tokyo University of Information Science
Tatsuki Inoue
Waseda University
Japan

Remedial Education of Symbolic Fractional Calculations Focused on Each Calculating Step

Takayoshi Yoshioka
Toyota National College of Technology
Japan
Karl Fuchs
Salzburg University
Alfred Dominik
BORG Akademiestrasse
Austria
Hitoshi Nishizawa
Toyota National College of Technology
Japan

Teaching About the Graphs of Functions with Hand-held Technology

Brenda Lee (Blee@sun5.wfc.edu.tw)
Wu Feng Institute of Technology
Taiwan

Web-based Multimedia Activities as Pedagogical Models

George Gadanidis ( ggadanid@uwo.ca)
University of Western Ontario
Canada

WebTeach: a Cooperative Web Environment for Teaching Science and Technology

Andrea Sterbini ( sterbini@dsi.uniroma1.it)
University of Rome
Franco Bagnoli (
bagnoli@dma.unifi.it)
University of Florence
Italy

Mathematics and Technology
Mathematical Research & Technology
Internet Technology in Mathematics Education
Mathematics Software in Teaching and Research

Graphics Calculators, CAS and Mathematics

Graphic Calculators and Mathematical Modelling in a Program for Preservice Mathematics Teachers

Jose Ortiz
University of Carabobo
Venezuela
Luis Rico
University of Granada
Spain

Impact of the Graphic Calculator on the Calculus Curriculum A Study in the Polytechnic Context

Jillian Lee (leejk@tp.edu.sg)
Rudy Sabarudin (
rudysab@tp.edu.sg)
Temasek Polytechnic
Singapore

Mathematics Teacher's Perception on the Use of Graphing Calculator (TI-83): Southeast Asian Perspective

Krongthong Khairiree
SEAMEO RECSAM
Malaysia

Problem Solving Using Maple Animations

Bill Blyth and Amin Naim
RMIT University
Australia

Representational Fluency and Symbolisation of Derivative

Alan Gil Delos Santos & Michael O.J. Thomas
The University of Auckland
New Zealand

Stimulating Conceptual Learning of Differentiation: A Graphic Calculator Integrated Curriculum

Ye Yoon Hong and Michael O.J. Thomas
The University of Auckland
New Zealand

Teaching Elementary Calculus with CAS Calculators 

L.M. Bloom (l.bloom@ecu.edu.au), P.A. Forster (forster@iinet.net.au) and U.A.Mueller (u.Mueller@ecu.edu.au)
Edith Cowan University
Australia

The Transition From Scientific Calculators to Computer Algebra Systems in One Educational System

Roger Brown (rgbrown@onetel.net.uk)
Swinburne University of Technology
Australia

The Year 2000 Calculus Tertiary Entrance Examination in Western Australia: Roles for a Graphics Calculator and Achievement by Gender

Ute Mueller ( u.mueller@ecu.edu.au)
Edith Cowan University
Patricia A. Forster (
forster@iinet.net.au)
Curtin University of Technology
Australia

Mathematics and Technology
Graphics Calculators, CAS, and Mathematics
Internet Technology in Mathematics Education
Mathematical Research & Technology

Mathematics Software in Teaching and Research

Calculating Paths in a Map Using a Matrix

Masahiro Takizawa (taki3262@green.ocn.ne.jp)
Otawara Senior High School
Japan

Cryptography in the Classroom Using Maple

A. Baliga (asha@rmit.edu.au) and S. Boztas ( serdar@rmit.edu.au)
RMIT University
Australia

Educational Use of Maple in Engineering Mathematics

Harald Pleym (harald.pleym@hit.no)
Telemark University College
Norway

Investigating the Effects of Using Spreadsheets in a Collaborative Learning Environment

Sabita M. D'Sourza (smdsouza@it.uts.edu.au) and Leigh N. Wood (leigh@maths.uts.edu.au)
University of Technology Sydney
Australia

Mathematics and Technology
Graphics Calculators, CAS, and Mathematics
Internet Technology in Mathematics Education
Mathematics Software in Teaching and Research

Mathematical Research & Technology

A Web-based Model of Student Profile Using CRM Technology

Nelson W. Chan (csnchan@comp.polyu.edu.hk)
Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Andy Tsang (
cwtsang@vtc.edu.hk)
Hong Kong Institute of Vocational Education
Hong Kong

Equational Reasoning with Limited Knowledge

P. Purdon
University of Tasmania
Australia

Estimation of Cancellation Errors in Multivariate Hensel Construction with Floating-Point Numbers

Kosaku Nagasaka (nagasaka@math.tsukuba.ac.jp)
University of Tsukuba
Japan

Experimental Evaluation of Generalization Capability of Incremental Projection Learning in Neural Networks

Hendri Murfi ( hendri@makara.cso.ui.ac.id) and Benyamin Kusumoputro (kusumo@cs.ui.ac.id)
University of Indonesia
Indonesia

Generating Threshold Functions of Up to Eight Variables Using Computer

Kasiyah Machmudin (kasiyah@makara.cso.ui.ac.id)
The University of Indonesia
Indonesia

Iterations of Waring Polynomials and Convergence Acceleration

Chizhong Zhou
Yueyang Normal University
China

Symbolic-numeric Computation of Wu's Method Using Stabilizing Algorithm

Kei-ichi Shiraishi (siraisi@dc.takuma-ct.ac.jp)
Takuma National College of Technology
Hiroshi Kai (kai@hpc.cs.ehime-u.ac.jp) and Matu-Tarow Noda (
noda@hpc.cs.ehime-u.ac.jp)
Ehime University
Japan

The Modeling of RDB and the Improvement of Miller's Conclusion

Kechang Yang ( yangkec@sina.com)
Yueyang Normal University
China

Visualizing Cohomology Aspects of 3D Objects

J.M. Berrio (jmberrio@sadiel.es), R. Gonzalez-Diaz (rogodi@us.es ), F. Leal, M.M. Lopez, P.Real (real@us.es)
University of Seville
Spain

[Preface] [Editors & Referees] [IPC Members] [Plenary Speeches]

[Invited Papers] [Contributed Papers] [Abstracts] [Tutorials]