Contributed Papers

 

Mathematics and Technology
Graphics Calculators and Mathematics
Mathematical Research & Technology

Internet Technology in Mathematics Learning & Teaching
Mathematics Software in Teaching and Research

A Review of Research on Student Achievement and Attitude in Computer and Calculator Enhanced Mathematics Courses   

Susan Barton (barton@math.byu.edu)
Department of Mathematics, Brigham Young University, Brigham Young University-Hawaii Campus
U.S.A.
 

"A Theory of Approximation of Functions" Courseware

Mykola M. Kolodnytsky (kolod@ziet.zhitomir.ua), Andriy M. Kovalchuk (sekito@ziet.zhitomir.ua), Sergiy V. Kurydat (kuryata@ziet.zhitomir.ua), Vyacheslav G. Levitsky (lev@ziet.zhitomir.ua)
Computer Software Department, Zhitomir Institute of Engineering and Technology
Ukraine
 

An Analysis of the Model for the Dengue Transmission with Two Strains

Keng Cheng Ang (kcang@nie.edu.sg) & Zhe Li (nf2743151t@acad21.ntu.edu.sg)
Division of Mathematics, School of Science, Nanyang Technological University
Singapore
 

Application of a Model for Borderline Marks 

M.F. Al-Bayatti (m.f.albayatti@livjm.ac.uk)
Liverpool John Moores University, School of Computing & Mathematical Sciences, Liverpool
U.K.
 

Application of E-Learning in Teaching Elementary Statistics Course
   (DOC)
Fakhrul Anuar Aziz (fakhrul@webmail.uum.edu.my), Abdul Razak Saleh
(razak@uum.edu.my), Abu Talib Othman
(abutalib@uum.edu.my)
School of Information Technology, Universiti Utara Malaysia
Malaysia
 

How to Use Dynamic Geometry Software in the Math Classroom

Tsuyoshi Nomura (t-nomura@ma3.justnet.ne.jp)
Yuki City Board of Education
Japan
 

Mathematics History is Another Door for Using Technology in Education

Masami Isoda (msisoda@human.tsukuba.ac.jp)
Institute of Education, University of Tsukuba
Kazuhiro Aoyama
Graudate School of Education, University of Tsukuba
Japan
 

Modeling of Data An Interdisciplinary Approach

Mun Fie Tsoi (mfrtsoi@nie.edu.sg), Ngoh Khang Goh, Lian Sai Chia
Science and Technology Education, National Institute of Education, Nanyang Technological University
Singapore
 

Modelling the Spread of Dengue in Singapore

Keng Cheng Ang (kcang@nie.edu.sg) & Zhe Li (nf2743151t@acad21.ntu.edu.sg)
Division of Mathematics, School of Science, Nanyang Technological University
Singapore
 

Modern Elementary Calculus: Assessment with Technology

Lynette M. Bloom (l.bloom@cowan.edu.au), Ute A. Mueller
School of Engineering and Mathematics, Edith Cowan University
Australia
 

Ordering of Fractions in JavaBars Environment by Pre-service Teachers

Mohan Chinnappan (mohan_chinnappan@uow.edu.au), Faculty of Education, University of Wollongong
Australia
 

Parallel 3-Point Explicit Block Method for Solving Higher Order Ordinary Differential Directly

Zurni bin Omar (zurni@webmail.uum.edu.my)
School of Information Technology, Universiti Utara Malaysia
Mohamed Suleiman (msuleiman@lan.moe.gov.my)
Department of Mathematics, Universiti Putra Malaysia
Malaysia
 

Step-by-step Instruction of Symbolic Calculation

Takayoshi Yoshioka (yoshioka@toyota-ct.ac.jp)
Toyota National College of Technology
Japan
Karl Josef Fuchs
Paris-Lodron-University
Austria
Hitoshi Nishizawa
(nisizawa@toyota-ct.ac.jp)
Toyota National College of Technology
Japan
Alfred Dominik
BORG Akademiestrasse
Austria
 

Students' Perceptions of Problem-based Learning Supported by a Web-based System

Willie Yip (cswiyip@comp.polyu.edu.hk)
Department of Computing, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
China
 

Teaching Introductory Statistics: More Data, Less Lecturing

Abdul Razak Saleh (razak@webmail.uum.edu.my), Azizah Ahmad (azie@webmail.uum.edu.my)
School of Information Technology, Universiti Utara Malaysia
Malaysia
 

The Effect of the Use of Technology to Explore Functions (1) Visualization of Data on Learning Functions

Kyoko Kakihana (kakihana@cs.kasei.ac.jp)
Tokyo Kasei Gakuin Tsukuba Junior College
Chieko Fukuda
Hakuoh University
Katsuhiko Shimizu
National Institute for Educational Research
Japan
 

The Effect of the Use of Technology to Explore Functions (2) Educating Mathematical Literacy for the Users of Mathematics

Chieko Fukuda
Hakuoh University
Kyoko Kakihana
Tokyo Kasei Gakuin Tsukuba Junior College
Katsuhiko Shimizu
National Institute for Educational Research
Japan
 

The Simulation of 256-bit Elliptic Curve Cryptosystem

Nur Azman Abu, Nur Azlina Zahari, Ida Zuraida Zakaria
Faculty of Information Science and Technology, Multimedia University
Malaysia
 

The Teaching of Conformal Mapping

Jinhao Zhang (zhangjhk@online.sh.cn)
Department of Mathematics, Fudan University
China
 

The Time Elapsed for an Object Sliding Down an Arbitrary Path

Felino G. Pascual (fpascual@vax2.winona.msus.edu)
Winona State University
U.S.A
 

Towards New Models of Teaching and Learning in Technology Enriched Mathematics Classrooms

Merrilyn Goos (m.goos@mailbox.uq.edu.au)
The University of Queensland
Vince Geiger
(vincent@gil.com.au)
Hillbrook Anglican School
Australia
 

Treat Technology with Care: Some Traps for the Unwary

Lynette M Bloom (l.bloom@ecu.edu.au)
Edith Cowan University
Walter R. Bloom
(bloom@murdoch.edu.au)
Murdoch University
Australia
 

Using Technology to Improve the quality of Students' Written Mathematics
 
Chris Barling (cbarling@swin.edu.au), Peter Jones (pjones@swin.edu.au)
Swinburne University of Technology
Australia
 

What is "Doing Mathematics" Now that Technology is Here?  

H. W. Gretton (h.gretton@shu.ac.uk), N.V. Challis (n.challis@shu.ac.uk)
Sheffield Hallam University
UK
 


Mathematics and Technology
Graphics Calculators and Mathematics
Mathematical Research & Technology

Internet Technology in Mathematics Learning & Teaching
Mathematics Software in Teaching and Research

 

Designing Interactive Mathematics

June Lester (jalester@cecm.sfu.ca)
Centre for Experimental and Constructive Mathematics
Simon Fraser University
Canada

FORMA MEnTIS: Learning Mathematics Through an Interactive Web Teacher

Antonietta Esposito (Esposito@crmpa.unisa.it)
CRMPA, Centro di Ricerca in Matematica Pura ed Applicata, Universita degli Studi di Salerno
Nicola Capuano
(niccap@crmpa.unisa.it)
DIIMA, Dipartimento di Ingegneria Informatica e Matematica Applicata,  Universita degli Studi di Salerno
Italy

Using OpenMath Servers for Distributing Mathematical Computations

O. Caprotti, A.M. Cohen, H. Cuypers, M.N. Riem, H. Sterk
Department of Mathematics and Computer Science
Eindhoven University of Technology
The Netherlands
 

Mathematics and Technology
Graphics Calculators and Mathematics
Mathematical Research & Technology

Internet Technology in Mathematics Learning & Teaching
Mathematics Software in Teaching and Research

5-Level of Mathematics Problem Solving with TI-92

Yue Zhong Wu (wuyzh@scnu.edu.cn)
Department of Mathematics, South China Normal University
China
 

Being Interactive

Vince Geiger (vincent@gil.com.au)
Hillbrook Anglican School
Will Morony
(wmorony@aamt.edu.au)
Australian Association of Mathematics Teachers
Australia
 

HP48G and Calculus Teaching

Brenda Lee (blee@sun5.wfc.edu.tw)
Wu-Feng Institute of Technology
Taiwan
 

New Calculator Technologies and Examinations

Barry Kissane (kissane@murdoch.edu.au)
Australian Institute of Education, Murdoch University
Australia
 

Revitalizing Mathematics with Problem Solving, Collaborative Learning, and the TI Graphing Calculators

Sinforosa 'Rose' Tan
Westchester Community College
U.S.A.
 

The AToMIC Projects- Applications to Mathematics Incorporating Calculators

Vince Geiger (vincent@gil.com.au) 
Hillbrook Anglican School
Merrilyn Goos
(m.goos@mailbox.uq.edu.au)
The University of Queensland
Australia

 

Trends in Assessment in Calculus on the Introduction of Graphics Calculators

Ute Mueller (u.mueller@ecu.edu.au)
Edith Cowan University
Patricia A. Forster
(Forster@iinet.net.au)
Curtin University of Technology
Australia
 

Mathematics and Technology
Graphics Calculators and Mathematics
Mathematical Research & Technology

Internet Technology in Mathematics Learning & Teaching
Mathematics Software in Teaching and Research

Efficacy of Teaching Calculus by Using Derive

Bunpot Suwannaprasert
Department of Mathematics, Faculty of Science, Naresuan University
Thailand
 

Evaluating z(2n) Using Mathematica

Shigeki Matsumoto (shigeki@konan-u.ac.jp)
Konan  University
Japan
 

Expanding Spreadsheet Calculations

Jozef Hvorecky   (Jozef.Hvorecky@hct.ac.ae)
Higher Colleges of Technology, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates & College of Management, Bratislava, Slovakia
Ivan Trencansky
(ivo@dec.euba.sk)
University of Economics, Bratislava,
Slovakia
 

Intelligent Dynamic Geometry Software I: Automated Geometric Diagram Generation

Xiao-Shan Gao (xgao@mmrc.iss.ac.cn),
Wei-Qiang Yang, Lei-Dong Huang
Institute of Systems Science, Academia Sinica, Beijing
China
 

Maple as a Tool for Self Study and Evaluation

N. Van den Bergh (norbert.vandenbergh@rug.ac.be)
T. Kolokolnikov
(theodore.kolokolnikov@rug.ac.be)
Faculty of Applied Sciences, University of Ghent
Belgium
 

Mathematics and Technology
Graphics Calculators and Mathematics
Mathematical Research & Technology

Internet Technology in Mathematics Learning & Teaching
Mathematics Software in Teaching and Research

A Recursive Triangular Factorization Procedure for Inverse Vandermonde Matrices

Shui-Hung Hou (mahoush@polyu.edu.hk)
Department of Applied Mathematics, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
China
 

Computing the Logarithm and the Value of the Argument of a Gauss Integer

Masahiro Takizawa (taki3262@green.ocn.ne.jp)
Otawara Senior High School, Tochigi Prefecture
Japan
 

Reducing Error of Modulo Interval Arithmetic

Noriko Soyama (soyama@ics.nara-wu.ac.jp)
Graduate School of Human Culture, Nara Women's University
Tsuneo Nakanishi
(tun@is.aist-nara.ac.jp)
Graudate School of Information Science, Nara Institute of Science and Technology
Fujio Kako
(kako@ics.nara-wu.ac.jp)
Faculty of Science, Nara Women's University
Akira Fukuda
(fukuda@is.aist-nara.ac.jp)
Graduate School of Human Culture, Nara Women's University
Japan
 

Solving Approximate GCD of Multivariate Polynomials by Maple/Matlab/C Combination

Kai Li (likai@hpc.cs.ehime-u.ac.jp), Lihong Zhi (lzhi@hpc.cs.ehime-u.ac.jp), Matu-Tarow Noda (noda@hpc.cs.ehime-u.ac.jp)
Department of Computer Science, Ehime University
Japan
 

[EP2000 Home] [Preface] [Editors & Referees] [IPC Members] [Plenary Speeches] [Invited Papers] [Contributed Papers] [Abstracts] [Tutorials]